Week 1 – Education & Libraries

I am a Librarian working in a Year 10-12 secondary school.

A quality education is all about information and in these times anyone who is 35 or younger will probably be getting most of their information online. It is therefore really important that we teach kids where to look for quality information.  School Blogs and websites are a great resource to narrow down choices and guide students.

I am pretty savvy with online resources but as they are in a constant state of change, I am hoping that this course will be able to save me a bit of time by introducing me to new resources and helping me refine my selections. We have a school blog that I have been working on for the last 2 and a bit years. I am pretty happy with the structure but like to keep adding new items to keep it a dynamic and interesting resource.

I did the Personal Learning Network a couple of years ago and found it very helpful in getting started with an online presence and I believe the course this year should be a bit of a refresher and hopefully a nudge in the right direction for some new possibilities.

One thought on “Week 1 – Education & Libraries

  1. Thanks Janie. It will be interesting to see if you notice anything different from the last time you did the Personal Learning Network course. The internet and information literacy are changing every day so there’s always new things to explore.
    Look forward to reading more.
    Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

