Forensics

  • If you were to go and start researching this topic right now, what would be the first thing you would do?

I have chosen Forensic Science as my topic.

As a fan of crime fiction, I have recently started exploring true crime stories and from there it is a very small jump to exploring forensics. Last year I did an online course through Futurelearn called Introduction to Forensic Science and I have just started another one, Introduction to Forensic Science.

Through my studies so far I have learned quite a bit about how forensic science assists in solving crime. We have looked at how people remember and at the accuracy of those memories. I have just read about the history of finger printing and DNA.

So much for personal reasons, I also have a work related one! We teach Forensics at Year 10 level and as a reasonably new course it is not as well resourced as it could be.

At the end of the course I would like to be able to add meat to the bones of the Curriculum links page that I have started on the school blog.

If I was starting a search now, I would go to Google and search under forensic science. I would be looking for credible sites such as university or law enforcement authorities.

2 thoughts on “Forensics

  1. Wow! How exciting to do a course on forensics. You have made yourself one of the valuable resources in your service. I am sure others will share your interest in what you find too. I look forward to reading future posts.
    All the best,
    Catherine
    (for the Team)

    Like

Leave a Reply

